Skip to content
March 22, 2011 / margikimball

♥ Meg Hunt

And we’re back from spring break, friends. This week I’m going to try something out. I haven’t planned ahead, and so I don’t know if it’s possible, but I’m interested in looking at folks coming out of the illustration program at the University of Connecticut. That is, my alma mater. I shall admit to you here that I am shy and so have not mingled with these folks; I just saw work in studios or found them after graduation. Without further ado…

First up is the lovely, the playful Meg Hunt, a major player in the illustration game, living in Portland. Meg’s work is fun, is wild, patterned and decorative. Her sophisticated, fresh use of color kind of blows my mind. The details and relationships rendered in her work allows the viewer to engage in the images for days.

She’s also funny. See for instance the pattern below. Llamas?! Nay, llamas with personalities. Hilarious. And smart. The mind that is able to create a sort of ordered chaos such that the panel can be arranged into a repeating pattern is impressive, methinks.

There’s infinitely more to say here about color and sort of vintage references as a way of creating meaning, but in the interest of sending you over to her site, I’ll end here, in awe. Note that Meg has little captions with her work so you can learn about her intentions and interests. And based on my Twitter-stalking slash research, it appears she’s hard at work on a book. Very, very exciting.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nathan Williams / Mar 23 2011 2:21 pm

    I love the TV piece .. really nice

    • margikimball / Mar 24 2011 3:12 pm

      Hi Nathan! Meant to respond sooner. Yes, the tv piece is one of my favorites and seems a little different, more inward, than some of the other work. There are so many good ones to choose from (ie. this super soaker dude)!

      Ps. I love the new illustrations up on your site (the leadership ones and now the favorite food one). So vibrant, so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

