Skip to content
September 13, 2009 / Tim Childers

Pen & Ink Idea

guy_fawkesI’ve thought of a few texts which could make for fun illustrations, mostly nursery rhymes.  The one I’ve settled on is an old british rhyme:

Remember remember

The fifth of November

Gunpowder, treason and plot,

I know of no reason,

Why the gunpowder treason

Should ever be forgot.

This rhyme is based (as some may recall from the movie ‘V for Vendetta’) on a man named Guy Fawkes, who in 1605, attempted to blow up the British houses of parliament.  Guy Fawkes and his conspirators were unsuccessful, Guy Fawkes himself was drawn, hung, and quartered (Dragged on a wooden frame to gallows, hung till death, then his body was divided into four parts; the standard punishment for treason at the time).  The rhyme was created as a reminder of the cost of committing treason.  Present day, the English still celebrate the fifth of november, burning Guy Fawkes effigies and reciting the poem as a symbolic gesture that treason to land and country shall never be forgotten.

Most (if not all) of you may not know that my mother is English (and very proud of her heritage), so every year my family hosts a Guy Fawkes party.  It is because of this familiarity, that I chose this poem for my project.

Let me know what you guys think of this idea? (I’ll be posting some sketches once I narrow done my thumbnails)

Also, I like to hear what you guys are planning to illustrate.

See ya’ll monday 🙂

Leave a Reply

